(OPAC) - Our local Catalogue

You can now access the library's local catalogue to see what we have at the library. Our catalog is searchable by title, by author or subject, and by many other ways also. You can also view a list of what was recently added to our inventory.

You can also view what you have in your account. For this, you need to set up a user name and password which you can do by telephone or when you come down to the library. Once this information is set up in your account, you can view what you've taken out in the past, see what you have on hand and what has been reserved for you, all directly from our Web site.

BSJL Local Catalogue


biblio-101


ILL (Interlibrary Loans)

This library participates in the Interlibrary Loan program. If the book, dvd, audio book, compact disc or other article you are looking for cannot be found on our shelves, we can search for it in other libraries in Manitoba, or even request a national search for the article. Once the item has been found, it is sent to us by Canada Post, and we often receive it within a few days. We will contact you upon its arrival and you will simply need to pick up the article.

Eligibility: All clients who are members in good standing are eligible for this service. The Library Administrator will be responsible for all decisions with respect to the number of books loaned by a client, to the suspension of this service to any client who does not conform to the rules, as well as for the decision to reinstate or not this privilege to a client.
(As carried by the Board of directors on June 15, 2015)

Cost: It could happen that other libraries impose fees for the lending out of material to our clients, mostly in the case of audio visual material. In this case, it is the client who will be responsible for the fees charged for the loan and these fees will need to be paid before the client can pick up the article.

Extending a loan: If you wish to prolong the loan period for an article, you must communicate with the library, by telephone during municipal library hours, or by email at bsjl@bsjl.ca a few days prior or on the date which the article was due to be returned. We will request an extension of the loan for you and we will advise you in the case that the loan cannot be extended, in which case you will need to return the item to the library immediately.

Fines and Fees: The client will be responsible for all fines and fees charged with respect to the loaning of an article, including late fees, damage or loss, or all other fees imposed by the lending library for the borrowed article.

Search by a client: If you wish, you can conduct your own search from this link (Public library services) to request that a book or other article be sent to you. We will be advised of your request and we will approve it if all is in order. Click here for more information on this service and to find out how to create an account to access this service.

Loans to other libraries: The library participates in the loaning of articles to other public libraries in Manitoba. The Library Administration has the authority to make all decisions with respect to the loaning of an article by our library to another library. Bibliothèque Saint-Joachim Library does not impose any fees for the lending to other libraries.

(As carried by the Board of directors on September 30, 2013)


eLibraries Manitoba

To access this service, you can go to eLibraries Manitoba. From there, you go to "Sign in". You choose Bibliothèque Saint-Joachim Library and you enter your 8-digit member number which is on the back of your library card for Bibliothèque Saint-Joachim Library. This will take you to a page where you can loan out ebooks. Note that this service is a library service, which means that there are only a certain number of copies of each book available at a time and if all copies are loaned out, you will be required to put a reserve on it. You will be advised by email as soon as it becomes available.

You can also access this service through the Libby app.


biblio-102


German or Russian Books

We hold a collection of Russian books which we borrow from the Winnipeg Public Library. This collection is changed regularly to permit us to offer our clients a wider choice of books.

At this time we do not hold a collection of German.

It is possible to order specific German or Russian books from the South Central Library System in Manitoba. This library holds the German and Russian book collections for Manitoba, and you can request some books through your library as interlibrary loans. Follow these instructions to view the German or Russian collections of the holdings of the South Central Library System.

  1. Go to www.scrlibrary.mb.ca
  2. Click on "Search the Library Catalogue"
  3. Select "Advanced Search"
  4. Under "Quick Search" (at left), from the drop down menu, select "Call Number" and type in "GER" for German books or "RUS" for Russian books. Click "Submit", (under that search box).

The list of German or Russian books available is listed there and you simply have to indicate to us which ones you would like to borrow. You can come in person, or email your list to us at bsjl@bsjl.ca, or call us at 424-9533. It will be our pleasure to order them for you. Once we receive them we will call you to let you know they are in.


Books in other languages

Public Library Services of Manitoba has holdings of books in different languages. Please contact us to find out how to order these books. There is a different way to order for each collection.


Large Print Books

We regularly import a wide selection of large print books from Public Library Services. These books are changed every four months. We invite you to share your comments about this collection and to let us know which genres of books interest you so that we may better serve your needs.

It is also possible to borrow large print books through the inter-library loan service from Manitoba Public Libraries System. You can go to the Patron Search and Request from Public Library Services Catalogue link. From there you can search the catalogue of resources available and make you choice. Click here for information as to how to refine your search to obtain the large print book you wish to receive.


biblio-103


Computers available to the public

We have four computer terminals which are available to the public. These four computers give you access to high-speed Internet. You must sign in before you log on to a computer. They can be reserved for an hour at a time. If after the hour, no one has reserved the computer you can remain on until there is a request for it.

Please take note of our Acceptable Use Policy.


Wireless Internet

The library also offers high-speed wireless Internet service. You can come to the library with your laptop computer and access to the Internet. This service is offered during the hours which the library is open.


Periodicals

We currently subscribe to a wide variety of periodicals. There is something for all tastes and for the youngest to the oldest.


biblio-108


EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost has something for all ages. It is a powerful online reference system offering a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially-designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.

Through EBSCOhost, you have access to the following:

Log in to EBSCOhost with the Username BSJL, with the password being password.
You may also log on using your library card number.


Novelist Plus

Not sure what to read? Novelist Plus can help you find books according to your genre and interests. To access Novelist Plus, you must first log in to EBSCOhost as indicated above.


biblio-106


NNELS (National Network for Equitable Library Service)

NNELS is a partnership providing Canadian libraries and their users with a repository of downloadable alternate format public library materials. This material is available to print-disabled patrons. If, as a print-disabled patron, you do not find what you are looking for on this site, this item can be created on request. You may access this service here.

You can create your account using the following steps:

  1. Click “Sign Up” in the top right-hand side of the webpage.
  2. Type in the name of the Library or City/Town.
  3. Click on the entry for your local library.
  4. Scroll down and type in your library barcode number, email address, first name and last name.
  5. Read the term and conditions of use and click the box to accept them.
  6. Answer the question provided at the bottom of the page.
  7. Click “Create new account.”
  8. Accepting the terms and conditions of use means the patron is self-declaring themselves as a person with a perceptual disability.

Technological Equipment Loaning Program

Your municipal library has technological equipment for loan to its members, at a minimal cost. Click here to view the contracts for the loaning of the equipment.

Please contact the library to reserve this equipment. Please check to make sure you have the proper connections for this equipment.


biblio-107

Notre Catalogue Local (OPAC)

Vous pouvez maintenant accéder le catalogue local de la bibliothèque pour voir tous ce que nous avons à la bibliothèque en faisant une recherche par titre, par auteur, par sujet, ou encore de plusieurs autres façons. Vous pouvez même voir la liste de ce que nous avons ajouté à notre inventaire dans les derniers temps.

En plus, vous pouvez voir ce que vous avez dans votre compte personnel. Pour ceci il vous faut un nom d'utilisateur et un mot de passe que vous pouvez vous procurer en téléphonant à la bibliothèque ou en le demandant lorsque vous vous rendez chez nous. Une fois cette information ajoutée à votre compte, vous pourrez voir, à partir de notre site Web, ce que vous avez déja sorti de la bibliothèque, voir ce que vous avez en main et aussi voir ce qui est réservé pour vous.

Catalogue local de BSJL


biblio-103


PEB (Prêts entre bibliothèques)

Nous participons au service de prêts entre bibliothèques. Si le livre, dvd, livre audio, disque compact ou autre article que vous désirez ne se retrouve pas sur nos rayons, nous pouvons faire une recherche dans les autres bibliothèques au Manitoba, ou encore en demander une au plan national. Une fois le livre ou l’article repéré, il nous est envoyé par Postes Canada, et nous le recevons souvent dans un délai de quelques jours. Nous vous contacterons pour vous avertir dès son arrivée et vous n'aurez qu'à le ramasser.

Éligibilité : Tous les clients qui sont membres en bonne et due forme sont éligibles pour ce service. La Directrice de la bibliothèque sera responsable de toutes décisions par rapport au nombre de livres empruntés par un client, à la suspension de ce service à un client qui ne se conformerait pas aux exigences, ainsi que de la décision de rétablir ou non ce service à un client.
(Adopté par le conseil d’administration, le 15 juin 2015)

Cout : Il pourrait arriver qu’une bibliothèque imposerait des frais pour le prêt de matériel à nos clients, surtout dans le cas de matériel audio visuel. Dans cette éventualité, c’est le client qui sera responsable pour les frais encourus pour le prêt et ces frais devront être payés avant que le client puisse recevoir l’article.

Prolongement d’un prêt : Si vous désirez prolonger la période de prêt d’un article, vous devez communiquer avec votre bibliothèque, par téléphone durant les heures de bibliothèque municipale ou encore par courriel au bsjl@bsjl.ca, quelques jours avant ou à la date où l’article est censé être retourné. Nous ferons une demande pour permettre l’extension du prêt et nous vous avertirons dans le cas où le prêt de l’article ne peut pas être prolongé, dans quel cas vous devrez nous remettre l’article aussitôt.

Amendes et frais : Le client sera responsable pour toutes amendes ou frais encourus quant au prêt d’un article, que ce soit pour retard, dommage, perte ou tous autres frais qui surviendraient et qui seraient exigés par la bibliothèque de qui l’article fut emprunté.

Recherche par les clients : Si vous le désirez, vous pouvez faire votre propre recherche sur le lien de Services de bibliothèques publiques du Manitoba pour demander qu’un livre ou autre article vous soit envoyé. On nous avertira de votre demande et nous l’approuverons si tout est dans l’ordre. Allez ici pour de plus amples informations sur ce service et pour savoir comment créer un compte pour y accéder. Nous regrettons que cette information ne soit disponible qu’en anglais pour le moment.

Prêt à d’autres bibliothèques : La bibliothèque participe aussi au programme de prêts d’article à d’autres bibliothèques publiques au Manitoba. Toute responsabilité de décision par rapport au prêt d’un article par notre bibliothèque à une autre bibliothèque est remise à la Directrice de la bibliothèque. La Bibliothèque Saint-Joachim Library n’impose pas de frais pour les prêts entre bibliothèques.

(Adopté par le conseil d’administration, le 30 septembre 2013)


eLibraries Manitoba

Pour accéder à ce service, vous devez vous rendre au site de eLibraries Manitoba. De là, vous devez aller "Se connecter". Vous choisissez la Bibliothèque Saint-Joachim Library et vous inscrivez votre numéro de membre de 8 chiffres qui se retrouve à l'arrière de votre carte de membre de la Bibliothèque Saint-Joachim Library. Ça vous apportera à la page où vous pourrez faire vos emprunts. Notez bien que ce service est un service de bibliothèque, ce qui veux dire qu'il y a un certain nombre de copies d'un livre qui sont disponibles à la fois et que si toutes les copies sont sorties, il faudra demander qu'on retienne le livre pour vous. On vous avisera par courriel dès qu'il deviendra disponible.


biblio-107


Livres allemands ou russes

Bien que nous n’ayons pas nos propres collections de livres allemands ou russes, il est possible de commander des livres en allemand ou russe en visitant le site suivant de la Bibliothèque South Central Library System in Manitoba. Cette bibliothèque détient les collections de livres allemands et russes au Manitoba, et vous pouvez en commander par l’intermédiaire de votre bibliothèque comme prêts entre bibliothèques. Suivez ces directives pour voir la liste de livres allemands et russes qui sont disponibles.

  1. Visitez www.scrlibrary.mb.ca
  2. Cliquez sur “Search Library Catalogue”.
  3. Sélectionnez “Advanced Search”.
  4. Sous "Quick Search" à la gauche, du menu descendant, sélectionnez "Call Number" et indiquez "GER" pour les livres allemands ou "RUS" pour les livres russes. De là vous verrez la liste de livres disponibles dans la langue que vous aurez choisie.

Vous devez nous indiquer, en personne, par téléphone (424-9533) ou par courriel (bsjl@bsjl.ca), quels livres vous aimeriez emprunter, et nous ferons la requête en votre nom. Dès que nous recevrons les livres, nous vous contacterons pour vous avertir qu’ils sont prêts à être ramassés.


Livres en d'autres langues

Les Services des bibliothèques publiques du Manitoba a des collections de livres en différentes langues. Contactez-nous pour savoir comment vous pouvez en commander. La façon de commander diffère pour chaque collection.

Depuis Juin 2012, nous avons une collection de livres russes que nous empruntons de la Bibliothèque publique de Winnipeg. Cette collection est changée régulièrement afin de nous permettre d'offrir des nouveautés à nos clients russes.


Livres à gros caractères

Nous empruntons régulièrement une sélection de livres à gros caractères des Services aux bibliothèques publiques du Manitoba. Ces livres sont échangés à tous les quatre mois. Nous vous invitons donc à nous faire part de vos commentaires par rapport à cette collection et de nous faire savoir quels genres de livres vous intéressent afin que nous puissions répondre le mieux possible à vos besoins.

Il est aussi possible d’emprunter des livres à gros caractères par le service de Prêts entre bibliothèque des Services des bibliothèques publiques du Manitoba. Vous pouvez vous rendre sur le site en cliquant sur Recherche et Requête par le client dans le catalogue des Services des bibliothèques publiques. De la vous pouvez faire une recherche dans le catalogue de ressources disponibles pour faire votre choix. Cliquez ici pour les directives pour rechercher le livre que vous aimeriez recevoir.


biblio-102


Ordinateurs disponibles au public

Nous avons quatre ordinateurs qui sont disponibles au public. Ces quatre ordinateurs vous donnent aussi l’accès à l’Internet à haute vitesse. Vous devez vous inscrire avant de vous servir d’un de ces ordinateurs. Ils peuvent être réservés une heure à la fois. Une fois l’heure terminée, si l’ordinateur n’a pas été réservé par quelqu’un d’autre, vous pouvez y demeurer tant qu’il n’en ait pas une demande.

Veuillez prendre connaissance de notre politique sur l'utilisation acceptable.


Internet sans fil

La bibliothèque vous offre aussi le service d’Internet sans fil. Vous pouvez vous rendre à la bibliothèque avec votre ordinateur portable et accéder l’Internet . Ce service est offert durant les heures d’ouverture de la bibliothèque.


Périodiques

Nous sommes présentement abonnés à une vaste variété de périodiques. Il y en a pour tous les goûts, des plus jeunes aux plus âgés.


biblio-106


EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost en a pour tous les âges . C’est un fournisseur offrant plusieurs bases de données. L'avantage d'EBSCOhost est de pouvoir interroger simultanément plusieurs bases avec une même interface. Chaque base d'EBSCOhost signale de la documentation professionnelle ou académique, majoritairement en anglais. Certaines incluent le texte intégral d'une partie ou de tous les documents répertoriés.

EBSCOhost vous donne accès à :

Rendez-vous à EBSCOhost avec le nom d'utilisateur BSJL et le mot de passe password.
Vous pouvez aussi y accéder en utilisant votre numéro de carte de membre.


Novelist Plus

Pas certain quoi lire? Novelist Plus peut vous aider à trouver des livres d'après votre genre et vos intérêts. Pour vous rendre à Novelist Plus, il faut accéder à EBSCOhost en suivant les directives indiquées plus haut.


biblio-101


NNELS (National Network for Equitable Library Service)

NNELS est un partenariat qui fourni aux bibliothèques canadiennes et à leurs utilisateurs une collection de matériel téléchargeable en formats substituts. Ce matériel est disponible à nos clients incapables de lire les imprimés. Si vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous recherchez à partir de ce site, le matériel peut être créé sur demande. Vous pouvez accéder ce service ici en utilisant le nom d'utilisateur Biblio-St.Joachim et le mot de passe MLB08.

Vous pouvez créer votre compte en suivant les étapes suivantes :

  1. Allez à "Signer", en haut, à la droite de la page d'accueil.
  2. Inscrivez soit Bibliothèque Saint-Joachim Library ou La Broquerie
  3. Cliquez sur le nom de votre bibliothèque
  4. Rendez-vous plus bas et inscrivez votre numéro de bibliothèque, courriel et votre prénom et nom de famille.
  5. Lire les conditions d'utilisateur et acceptez-les.
  6. Répondre aux questions au bas de la page
  7. Cliquez sur "Créer un nouveau compte"
  8. En acceptant les conditions, vous vous déclarez comme étant une personne qui est incapable de lire les imprimés.

Programme de location d'équipement technologique

Votre bibliothèque municipale a de l'équipement technologique qui est disponible pour emprunt par ses membres, à un coût minime. Cliquez ici pour les contrats pour la location de ces équipements.

Veuillez communiquer avec la bibliothèque pour la réservation de cet équipement.


biblio-105